Love Blossoms Suite!

occ2016-us_05

How pretty is this set? When I first saw the thinlit at OnStage, I actually gasped. So beautiful!!!!!

Beautifully intricate, can totally be the focal point of your card with minimal embellishment. The die set comes with 2 smaller flower dies that fit perfectly over the large heart die if desired.

I have been trying to think of ways to use this die without it being used in the most obvious ways. I just finished up a swap with some other demonstrators, and I used this die.

20160102_232952_resized

I started out by die cutting a the floral heart thinlit with real red cardstock. I then cut a circle out of Saraha Sand cardstock using one of the Circle Collection Framelits. Finished by cutting 3×3 squares out of our beautiful Dazzling Diamonds Glimmer Paper. No glitter all over the place! SCORE!!!

20160102_233207_resized

I adhered the die cut behind the circle opening, using a bit of Multipurpose liquid glue. Don’t worry about adhering each tiny piece. I just ran a circle of glue around the opening. It held perfectly.

20160102_233217_resized

Now, I tried a few different adhesives for adhering the Glimmer paper, but found that the Tear & Tape worked the best. Put a piece on the top and bottom of the FRONT side of the Glimmer paper, and adhere behind the die cut, making sure to line it up so that you can’t see any gaps behind the layers.

20160102_233104_resized

I love how this looks! Simple, elegant… and you would never know that there was a heart behind that circle!

Now… because I wasn’t actually planning on sharing these pictures here (took them for my own reference for later), I don’t have pictures of these next few steps.

I used the 2 flower thinlits that came with the set, and cut out a crud load of tiny flowers, out of Blushing Bride cardstock, and more Glimmer Paper.

I then started adhering the flowers over the flowers on the Real Red die cut, slightly offsetting them for dimension.

Stamped the “My Valentine” image from the coordinating stamp set, centered under the die cuts, with Chocolate Chip ink.

20160104_211236_resized

The above image is after I added Candy Dots to the center of the glimmer paper flowers, and pearls to the center of the Blushing Bride. I had cut an A2 card (5.5×4.25in) out of Sahara Sand and was seeing how the panel looked on it.

I ended up cutting thing strips from a sheet of patterned paper from the Love Blossoms DSP pack, to place on either side of the center panel. I made sure to choose paper that would bring all of the colors together. In this case, Blushing Bride and Real Red. I was able to save a ton of paper by doing this, instead of using full panels behind the center panel. If I had done that, I would have used 12 pieces of DSP. Doing it this way, I just used 1 sheet (and have a bit left over!). It gives the look of a matted center panel 🙂

Below are all of the cards with their strips of DSP on them.

20160104_214229_resized

Adhered the center panel to the card fronts, using dimensionals….

20160104_214401_resized_1

And the card was done! 🙂

I will admit, I don’t love it. I like it, yes, but it is most certainty more “girly” than my typical card. But for a Valentine’s Day  card I guess that is to be expected!

I am looking forward to trying a different style, with the same center panel (without the flowers and stamped sentiment). It will be fun to challenge myself.

How fun would this be as a shaker card? Omit the Glimmer Paper, add some acetate behind the die cut, add some sequins, and boom! Cute shaker card! Hmmm… I am going to have to play this weekend!

Going back to the Love Blossoms suite, it is beautiful, the whole thing! This suite has everything you need to create not only wonderful Valentine’s Day projects, but anything you need for someone you love (partner, child, friend, etc!).

140643G

How pretty and delicate is this stamp set? Those flowers up there?  They are sized to fit perfectly into the flower thinlits, or the flowers on the large heart thinlit.

140621

LOVE this die. I really think that Stampin’ Up stepped up their game with the new die offerings. So intricate and beautiful. Hint: The Big Shot Die Brush was invaluable when cutting these out, especially so many! It made it a breeze to get out all of the little pieces left over.

140550_glimmer_paper_blushing_bride

New Glimmer Paper in Blushing Bride! I have used this, and I love it. I have 1 sheet left, and I might be hoarding it a bit. Think I need to order some more ASAP!

140548_dsp_stack_love_blossoms140549_cardstock_pack_love_blossoms

Love Blossoms DSP and coordinating cardstock (in Blushing Bride, Crumb Cake, & Rose Red).

140551_LoveBlossomsKit

Love Blossoms Embellishment Kit. Comes packed with fun items to complete your projects. The kit contains: Paper clips with little bows in Rose Red, wood hearts, pearl trim, enamel glitter dots in Blushing Bride, foil heart doilies- gold on one side, white on the other, satin ribbon in Blushing Bride, and an assortment of sequins. The wood hearts can be stamped, stained, painted, embossed on to create your own look to match your project. The same with the foil hearts. Don’t need gold or white? Flip the doilie to the white side, and using your sponge, ink it up with whatever color you like!

This whole suite is one that I will be using for a long while!

If you have any questions, leave a comment or email me at InkItAll@yahoo.com

Have a great day!

Product List

One thought on “Love Blossoms Suite!

  1. Valerie January 7, 2016 / 3:44 pm

    Very pretty card. Love this set.

    Like

Leave a Reply

