3 New Cards!

Good morning!

I took a week or so off of creating while working on my husband’s surprise birthday party. Monday night, as soon as I got home from work and grabbed something to eat, I headed down to my Craft Room. I had ideas bursting out and just needed to play.

And play I did! I came up with three cards in the 3 hours I was down there. This will be a long post, but stick around to the end where I will show you my favorite card of the evening!

This first one that I did took the longest, but was the most fun I think! I saw a similar idea recently, stamping over a background stamp then coloring in the images and loved it. So this is my take on it.

20160201_21064220160201_210715

I die cut a circle from a piece of Whisper White (in hindsight I should have used Very Vanilla….), and stamped our (retired) Dictionary background onto it. I then stamped 3 separate images from our Flowering Fields Sale-A-Bration set (FREE with a $50 purchase!) along with the cute little butterfly from the same set.

I colored the images in with my aqua painter using Blackberry Bliss, Old Olive, Watermelon Wonder, Tangelo Twist, Perfect Plum, and Daffodil Delight.

I set that aside and cut out the circle frame using my Big Shot and nesting Circle Collection Framelits. I adhered the frame onto the stamped image.

I then cut out *three* Thanks from the Hello You Thinlits set, using Wisteria Wonder cardstock. I cut out three because I wanted the words to have a bit more weight than if I just used one. I adhered them all together using our Fine Tip Glue Pen. That adhesive is amazing. The tiny tip allows for perfectly precise lines of glue. Because of that I had no spillage over the sides of the words glued together! No mess!

I used a piece of DSP from the Pretty Petals collection, and cut it down to 3x 5.5″ then adhered it to the front of a piece of Wisteria Wonder cardstock. I trimmed to 8.5″ x 5.5″ for my card, scoring at 4.25″ to form my A2 sized card.

I cut a 2 inch piece of Very Vanilla, then punched the end with the Triple Banner Punch. I layered that over the piece of DSP on the front of the card.

I then adhered the circle to the front of the card. I trimmed some dimensionals into tiny pieces so that I could fit them  behind the letters of the word, then adhered that to my card front.

I ran our clear Wink of Stella over the word and the circle frame, causing that pretty subtle sparkle you see, especially in the second photo. Done!

You can see the dimensionals if you look at a side view of the card (first photo above), but from straight on, can’t see a thing. The dimension that “Thanks” gives to the card adds a lot I think.

(product listing for the card will be at the end of the post)

This next one isn’t my favorite, but it is with products that I wanted to play with. Figured I would share even though it isn’t my best work. Just keeping it real 😉

20160201_21093120160201_210947

I started by stamping the balloons from our Balloon Celebration set in Blushing Bride and Pool Party, then punching them out using the coordinating Balloon Bouquet punch.

The stamp set comes with balloon strings in a bunch, so I stamped those onto Whisper White cardstock (trimmed to 3.75″x 5″). Each of the balloons was them adhered onto the front of the panel. I alternated adhering some of the flat onto the panel, then others I put a dimensional at the top of the balloon, and regular adhesive on the bottom. That way some of the balloons were dimensional, looking like they are getting ready to float off of the card!

I stamped the Happy Birthday sentiment from the same set onto a piece of Whisper White, then trimmed both ends with the Triple Banner Punch. I also punched a piece of Pool Party cardstock with the same punch. I cut a small piece of our new Pool Party Glitter Ribbon and banner trimmed both ends (just using my snips), then layered all 3 pieces together and adhering over the balloon strings.

I trimmed a piece of Pool Party cardstock to 4″ x 5.25″ and adhered a piece of Blushing Bride cardstock to it, that had been trimmed to 2″ x 5.25″. I then adhered the white panel over the top of that, offsetting it slightly to the right. I cut another piece of Pool Party Glitter ribbon and wrapped it around the panel, where the white overlapped the Blushing Bride.

The whole panel was adhered to a piece of Thick Whisper White cardstock, trimmed to 4.25″ x 11″, then scored at 5.5″ to form a top folding A2 card.

(product listing for the card will be at the end of the post)

Finally, my favorite of the bunch. The most simple, took me 30 minutes TOPS, only used two stamp sets, one ink, and 3 colors of cardstock.

20160201_220445

The Balloon Celebration stamp set has some great balloon images, but it also contains some fun random images, including two little dandelion “fluffs”. I would love a full dandelion image, but don’t have one. So I decided to create one!

I stamped the included balloon string image, to use as the stem, onto a piece of Whisper White cardstock that had been trimmed to 5.25″ x 3.75″, on the lower left side. Over that, I started randomly stamping the two “fluffs” images, trying to keep them in a circle-ish shape. I had one block, with one stamp on one side of it, and the other stamp on the other side. Just kept flipping the block over. I didn’t need the image to line up perfectly, so I wasn’t concerned about how well I stamped. I just went back and forth until I was happy with how it looked.

I then stamped a few of the “fluffs” (is there an actual word for these things??) to look like they had been blown off of the dandelion and were flying away.

I stamped the sentiment on the panel using one from our Picture Perfect stamp set.

I mounted the panel on a piece of our Silver Foil Sheets trimmed to 5.25″ x 4″. The whole thing was mounted onto a piece of Basic Black cardstock, trimmed to 5.5″ x 8.5″ and folded in half to form a top folding A2 cards. A few sequins in silver and clear from our Metallic Sequin pack completed the card.

Oh! I also added a touch of our clear Wink of Stella here and there on the stamped images, just for an extra little something.

Thats it! Easy!! It isn’t the most technique heavy project (um, no technique), and it is completely simple, nothing impressive. But I just love this card 🙂

Which do you like the best?

Have a great day!

 

Thanks Card
Product List

Happy Birthday Card
Product List

Dream Card
Product List

6 thoughts on “3 New Cards!

  1. Connie February 3, 2016 / 3:53 pm

    I Love all of your cards.You are very talented.I appreciate all the detail you put in your directions.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tyra February 3, 2016 / 4:12 pm

      Thank you so much Connie!

      Like

  2. Tina Riddle March 24, 2016 / 12:31 pm

    All beautiful but that dandelion card is amazing!!! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  3. Mary Breeze April 11, 2016 / 1:13 pm

    Love All the cards! You are very talented!

    Like

  4. Fran August 4, 2016 / 11:03 pm

    My favorite is the dandelion, followed by the balloons. Thanks so much for all the detailed directions, I know that took extra time, probably longer than the time it took to make the cards 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tyra August 4, 2016 / 11:09 pm

      Thanks so much Fran!! I appreciate your comments 🙂 I like being able to share instructions for cards, especially when it is being appreciated lol Thanks again!

      Like

Leave a Reply

