What I Love… Pt 2

Happy Easter weekend!!

No work today, yay! I love having these extra days off, such a treat. Hopefully the weather cooperates so I can take our dog to the park. The weather has been so weird here in Illinois this week. 64 on Tuesday, 40 and rain on Wednesday, 32 and rain and snow today. Ew. But my bulbs are coming up, that gets me excited every spring!

Now, a few days ago I challenged myself to use a stamp set that I haven’t  used before HERE. I chose What I Love, a free set that can be earned until March 31st. Wednesday and Thursday nights I came up with 2 cards.

This first is my favorite of the bunch, also the easiest 🙂

20160324_215359

It is hard to tell in the photo, but one of the flowers is fussy cut and adhered with dimensionals.I masked the flower image that I stamped directly onto the white panel so that I could stamp the leaves where I wanted without covering the flower.

Just a sweet simple card. I will be sending this to a new customer this weekend!

The next one took a lot longer than I anticipated, and while I am not 100% happy with it, I enjoyed the technique and will be trying it again.

20160324_215315

The inside panel says YOU

With this technique, you stamp your image first with white craft ink (pigment), then dry with a heat gun. If you don’t do that, the ink won’t dry fully. Pigment ink is intended for embossing so it is very wet and sticky. Unfortunately there is no good white dye ink.

After your white ink is dry, stamp over your image with whatever color you choose. This allows you to stamp on black cardstock. So fun!!!!

TIP: I then used the outline image from the set and first inked it with Versamark, then directly into Melon Mambo ink before stamping it onto the cardstock. This is a little trick that you can do to turn any dye ink into a pigment ink! You won’t ruin your dye ink pad by doing this. Just remember first the Versamark, then the dye ink. This was you can heat emboss the image, as I did here (with clear embossing powder).

Now, this is the first time that I have tried this technique, as I said, I will be trying it again!

I was a bit disappointed to see that the Melon Mambo that I used turned purple over the black cardstock. I am wondering if I needed to have a more solid coat of white under it?

The rest of the card was completed with Melon Mambo cardstock and bakers twine, so you can see the big difference in color.

Hope everyone has a wonderful weekend and an even better Easter!

 

 

One thought on “What I Love… Pt 2

Leave a Reply

