It’s Time to Celebrate….!

Happy April 1st!

Sorry, no tricks here for April Fools day!

But I did want to share a fun card that I made last night. I belong to a fantastic group on Facebook. Over 7 thousand members, it isn’t entirely Stampin’ Up related, but I would say at least 50% of the things shared are all Stampin’ Up, there are a TON of demonstrators in the group too. I have made some great friends, and have gotten some wonderful ideas from the ladies and gentleman in the group.

Well, we have a monthly birthday club. The woman that runs the club figures out who has a birthday that month, then assigns the other members names to send to. In December when it was my birthday month, I received over 100 birthday cards between that group and another I am on. Talk about making a girl feel special!!!!!

Well last night I received the name of the woman that I am sending to, to make her feel special for her birthday. 10 minutes later I had an idea and was in my craft room making her card.

Nothing complicated, but fun!!!!

Ingredients listed at the end of the post

20160331_205458

 

  • Swipe Whisper White cardstock with an Embossing Buddy, to prevent the embossing powder used in the next few steps from sticking where you don’t want it.
  • Stamp sentiment your cardstock (From the Party With Cake set), inking up first with Versamark, then with Memento Tuxedo Black. This will allow the Memento ink to be heat embossed!
  • Sprinkle Back embossing powder over the image and heat (just until the embossing powder turns glossy!)
  • Trim cardstock so there is about 1/4″ around the sentiment.
  • Color in the open block words, using either Crushed Curry marker, or a blending pen and the Crushed Curry ink pad. (I used the marker in this image)
  • There is where I admit that I didn’t measure. SIGH Big fail. What I did though, is I adhered the sentiment piece onto a piece of Melon Mambo, and trimmed the Melon Mambo to be a quarter of an inch wider than the Whisper White piece.
  • Then I adhered it to a piece of Basic Black cardstock, and trimmed that to be 1/8″ larger than the Melon Mambo piece. Clear as mud? 😉
  • Trim a piece of Designer Series Paper (used DSP from It’s My Party here) to 2″ x 3.5″
  • Adhere to a piece of Melon Mambo cardstock trimmed to 2.25″ x 3.75″
  • Adhere that to a piece of Basic Black cardstock trimmed to 2 3/8″ x 3 7/8″
  • Adhere your “Celebrate” panel in the middle of the long panel.
  • Wrap the bottom of the long panel with White Bakers Twine three times.
  • Adhere the panel to a piece of Melon Mambo trimmed to A2 card size (top folding) using Dimensionals.
  • Adhere a piece of Whisper White cardstock trimmed to 5″ x 3.75″  to the inside (which I didn’t do until after I took the photos! Sorry!)
  • Stamp the “And Ice Cream. And More Cake” sentiment to the inside using Memento Tuxedo Black ink.

And you are done! Easy peasy!

 

20160331_205517

You can see the shadows from the panel being raised here.

I put the card in the mail this morning, think this is the first time that I have sent a Birthday Club card off on the first day of the month! We have until the 15th, mine is usually sent the 14th or 15th lol

And I got to use my #imbringingbirthdaysback stamp again!

Have a great weekend everyone!

Product List

Leave a Reply

