Pun Intended

Happy Friday!

What seemed like the longest week every has moved along finally! I am so excited to sleep in a bit tomorrow!

My wonderful husband is finally off for the weekend. It seems like ages since he has been off both Saturday and Sunday! Tomorrow we have a family party to go to. It will be fun! We all get together every June, celebrate all of the birthday’s throughout the year, eat, drink, and have a great time. Everyone brings their dogs too, so even the 4 legged members of the family get to have a good time! I don’t know about the other dogs, but Opie sleeps the entire ride home, then pretty much the whole next day as well. He plays HARD!

Today’s card was a fun one to come up with…

Ingredients are listed at the end of the post

20160615_183254.jpg

You  might recognize this stamp from when I used it a few weeks ago HERE. I just love this little bee! There are two different sentiments in the set that you can use with the bee, making it just about perfect for any occasion.

I stamped the bee and the sentiment onto a piece of white cardstock, then colored it in using my Hello Honey and Basic Black Stampin’ Write markers. I use a bit of Smokey Slate as well on the wings for a touch of extra dimension. I wasn’t satisfied with the way the wings looked, too flat to me. So, I grabbed my Clear Wink of Stella and brushed a thin layer over the wings. It added just a bit of sparkle!

You can see it better in this close up…

20160615_183331

Keep in mind, the Wink Of Stella Glitter Brush lays down a VERY fine scattering of glitter. To the naked eye you can’t see the little pieces of glitter, as you would with standard glitter. This just looks like glitter dust. You can see it better in the phot above since it was enlarged so much.

The panel was trimmed out using the new Layering Squares Framelit Dies. Side note: I have our old Square Dies, and wasn’t sure that I wanted to spend the money on the new ones. I am SO glad that I did! We have much more size options, as well as coordinating scalloped dies. This set makes it a breeze to layer!

I also die cut the coordinating scalloped layer and mounted the bee panel on top using dimensionals.

I so love our DSP packs! They make coordinating a breeze! The striped background paper is from the Neutrals DSP pack. Stampin’ Up has one for each color family. If you need some DSP in coordinating colors (ME), don’t have a whole lot of extra income to purchase a lot of the specialty paper (ME!), or struggle with coordinating patterned paper (ME!!), then the DSP packs are perfect for you!

I used a bit of our new Basic Black Bakers Twine to wrap three times around the patterned paper then tied it in a neat bow.

The whole thing is adhered to the top folding So Saffron A2 card using Dimensionals. I love how simple but fun this card is!

20160615_183307

I hope that everyone has a wonderful weekend! See you Monday!

Product List

Hello Honey 8-1/2" X 11" Cardstock

Hello Honey 8-1/2″ X 11″ Cardstock
[133678]
$7.00

Leave a Reply

