Thoughtful Branches

Good afternoon!

I hope everyone’s week is off to a great start! Once again, I need to apologize for the delay in today’s post. Comcast stinks… that should be explanation enough right? I started working on today’s post, and poof, the internet disappeared. It seems to be up and running now, so fingers crossed!

Last week I gave you a sneek peek of Thoughtful Branches. This is available for a limited time from Stampin’ Up from August 1st- August 31st (while supplies last). You can read more about it HERE.

I knew from the moment I saw the pictures that I would love this set, but when I got it in my hands yesterday I fell in love! This set is so versatile, I can see it being used for everything from a general Hello card, to birthday’s, to the holidays. Trust me, you will want this set! Make sure to click on the link above to view all of the dies and stamps in this bundle!

Now, my husband and I love hydrangeas. We used them in our wedding, and have numerous different types of hydrangea bushes around our house. I always get excited when they start budding! Not all are in bloom yet, the ones that receive the most sun are always the first to bloom.

The photos I took above are the first ones that have started blooming, taken last week.

Anyway, the reason for my hydrangea ramble… one of the dies in the Thoughtful Branches bundle makes for a beautiful hydrangea!

Ingredients for this card is listed at the bottom of this post

Edited

How perfect is that?

This card wasn’t a breeze to put together, but I love the look of it!

I started by grabbing a few sheets of watercolor paper, misted each with water, then started adding some ink to each using an aqua painter. I started with the lightest color, dried it, misted it again with water, then dabbed on the darker color. I wasn’t going for any sort of pattern, I wanted a variegated look.

Edited 4

Left: Pink Pirouette and Sweet Sugarplum.    Right: Sweet Sugarplum and Perfect Plum

See.. nothing special at all. In fact, pretty messy and scary looking! I also did the same with a 3rd piece of watercolor, in Old Olive. I planned on using the green piece for the stems and leaves.

I die cut two of the hydrangea blooms from each piece of cardstock. I ended up setting   aside the lighter ones, to use on another project. If you have the Precision Base Plate for the Big Shot, use it!!! It comes in handy big time for intricate dies like these.

After everything was watercolored and die cut, the card came together easily!

I stamped the flower/tiny leaves patter over each of the die cuts, using Perfect Plum. Since the stamps are Photopolymer, it makes it simple to line everything up.

I layered the pieces, flipping the top piece 180 degrees, to make the hydrangea bloom fuller. I brushed a thin coat of Clear Wink of Stella over the piece that I was using on top, then added the two smallest sizes of the Pearl Basic Jewels to the center of various blooms.

Edited 2

Once again, I am loving this bundle! We are hoping that it will also be available in either the Holiday catalog or the Occasions catalog.

If you have any questions, let me know in the comments or email me at InkItAll@yahoo.com.

See you tomorrow with another fun card using this bundle!

Product List

2 thoughts on “Thoughtful Branches

  1. Valerie July 20, 2016 / 12:30 am

    Love this one! What a clever way to use the die’s!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

