Christmas Z Fold Card

Happy Friday!!!!!

Today I have a FUN card to share with you, along with very simple instructions 🙂

These Z Fold cards have been hot lately and all over the place.

Base instructions:

  • Trim a piece of cardstock to 5.5″ x 11″ (this is the base of the card)
  • Score at 5.5″ and at 2.75″
  • Trim a piece of cardstock to 1″ x 11″ (this is what you adhere your decorations to)
  • Score at 5.5″ and at 2.75″

That is it! Those are the only two “tricky” cuts/score lines.

I decided to do my take on one, using the Santa’s Sleigh bundle.

Ingredients for this project are listed at the end of the post

20160907_18355920160907_183606

I had a blast with this one!

Now, if I had made the card longer, I could have fit all 8 reindeer, PLUS Rudolph on it. But this size is perfect for fitting the sleigh and 6 adorable reindeer. I love the bells I added around their necks. By no means can this card fit into a standard envelope (it could without the bells!). I would need to use a padded envelope. But to be honest, I am not so sure that I will be sending this out. I am thinking that it will be used as a decoration this Christmas (which is why there is no sentiment on it).

A few details/information for you:

20160907_183746.jpg

The background was done in Soft Sky cardstock and the Softly Falling Textures Impressions Embossing Folder.

The trees were die cut in Whisper White, Dazzling Diamonds Glimmer Paper, and Gold Foil cardstock. The Gold foil picks up so many colors around it. It looks almost green here. Other times it looked copper (reflecting the pink top I had on).

20160907_183617

While the card itself is on Thick Whisper White (holds up so well to a heavy card like this one!), all matting was done with Gold Foil and Soft Sky.

The reindeer were stamped on Chocolate Chip cardstock, with Chocolate Chip Ink.

The “reins” were made with Gold Metallic Thread, with a bell threaded on. I just wound the thread around each reindeer’s neck, adding a bell on, then moved onto the next reindeer, working left to right. When I got to the final reindeer, I moved backwards, right to left, winding the thread around each reindeer again. I tied both ends of the thread around the front of the sleigh (winding it around a few times, it wanted to slip off!).

20160907_183559

Finally, the sleigh was die cut in Gold Foil with Basic Black as the background.

The presents were just cut by hand into square and rectangle shapes, with Gold or Red Metallic thread wrapped around them. In the case of the Dazzling Diamonds gift, I used the Gold Bakers Twine from the new Trio pack in the Holiday catalog.

The stocking was stamped using Garden Green ink, onto Garden Green cardstock. I used my Blender Pen to add a bit of Real Red to the stocking, then went over the red with the clear Wink of Stella for a bit of shimmer.

20160907_183645

All laid out to give you the full view!

If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to let me know. Off to clean the mess off of my table now. It is BAD after this one!

Have a great day!!

Product List

Red Foil Sheets

Red Foil Sheets
[139607]
$4.00
Blender Pens

$10.00
Big Shot

$110.00

4 thoughts on “Christmas Z Fold Card

  1. Heather L September 9, 2016 / 11:43 am

    Love it! Thank you for the directions!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Connie September 9, 2016 / 12:44 pm

    Love your card,It is so neat how it all fits….

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Valerie September 9, 2016 / 12:50 pm

    Love this! Thanks for all of the details! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Karen September 10, 2016 / 8:15 pm

    Lovely card!

    Like

Leave a Reply

