Another Watercolor Background?

Yes please!

In my last post, I shared a birthday card I made for my son using a watercolor background. (View it HERE).

Today I am sharing yet another watercolor background card! Very similar to the other one, but still so different!

This was a card that I showed the ladies how to create in my last card class. I had so much fun with it, I hope that they all did too!

20170611_134947

Everyone used the same three colors in their backgrounds, but it is amazing how different everyone’s looked at the end. That is part of the fun of these types of backgrounds.

For this card, using my aqua painter, I wet the watercolor paper in a rough rectangle shape. I wanted the ink to stay roughly in the shape that I “painted” with water. When you lay down water first, the ink will only flow onto the wet spots of the watercolor paper. Easy way to control your ink!

First a bit of Dapper Denim ink was painted onto the background. A bit of Tranquil Tide came next. Finally some Lemon Lime Twist. I love the way the three colors flowed together.

The vellum embellishment? That is from the Eastern Beauty Bundle. I am so very much in love with the dies in this bundle. They are just beautiful! A simple piece of Whisper White cardstock was die cut using the Stitched Shapes thinlits to hold the sentiment.

Notice the sentiment is stamped with both Tranquil Tide and Dapper Denim? Easy to do!! Ink up about 1/2 of the stamp with your lighter color. Then ink up the other half of the stamp with your darker color, making sure to overlap the colors a bit when you get to the darker color. That will help make the color merge seamless. Then just stamp as normal!

The sentiment and the vellum embellishment are adhered with dimensionals, over two pieces of ribbon. I used Tranquil Tide 1/2″ Finely Woven Ribbon here, along with Dapper Denim Ruched Ribbon.

A couple gold sequins finishes off the card front nicely! The card front was adhered to a top folding A2 card in Dapper Denim.

Easy, but I love the look of it! Again, these watercolor background make me smile!!!!

Have a wonderful day!!!

 

 

**This post was prescheduled in anticipation of our little one arriving. Any day now! 

Leave a Reply

