Happy Birthday/Paper Pumpkin Alternative

Good morning!

I hope everyone had a fantastic weekend! I wanted to share a card today that I made for my son’s 22nd birthday (pardon me while I stop to hyperventilate a moment… I have a *22* year old?!?!?!?!).

Now, his birthday isn’t actually until June 26th, but our family gets together every June to celebrate ALL of the birthdays throughout the year. We knock it all out in one fell swoop lol We draw names, and that is the person that you buy for. Funny enough, I got my son this year 🙂 So he got his $50 worth of items from his wish list on Sat, but we will be having him over the weekend of his birthday for a small party and give him his good gift from my husband and I.

Anyway!!!! As I have mentioned before, I subscribe to Paper Pumpkin, and I love it! I am always excited to get that box every month. But, it isn’t always 100% to my taste. They usually do pretty well by me though, so on the rare occasion the kit isn’t my cup of tea, I try to do other things with it.

This was the May 2016 kit.

 

See! A great kit! But not really my style. Now, I do love the individual elements. I LOVE the stamp set that came with it. The corrugated Pumpkin Pie (I think?) backgrounds are so much fun! The die cut card fronts? Beautiful! But I just couldn’t get with it all as a whole.

So I sat down one night last week, pulled out the kit, and started playing with the items on their own. This is what I came up with…

20160616_202546.jpg

Cute right? I love this sunburst die, but so rarely use it. I need to get it out more!

From the Paper Pumpkin kit I used: The Happy die cut sticker, the Birthday stamp, and the corrugated background.

I changed the color and look of the Happy die cut sticker by squashing a Versamark pad onto it, then covering it in Black Stampin’ Emboss powder (retired). After heating, it is so shiny and pretty!

I die cut the sunburst out of Daffodil Delight, then adhered it onto the corrugated background. I had to trim off the edges of the die cut, since it is much larger than the standard A2 card.

The circle was die cut from Vellum. I adhered the Happy die cut onto it, then stamped Birthday onto the circle using StazOn. It was all then adhered onto the main panel.

That panel was then adhered to a side folding A2 card in Daffodil Delight using dimensionals. A few gold sequins were added and that was it!

I really love this card and I can see duplicating it in different colors and styles for other occasions.

Now, if I was thinking about it, I would have run over the edges of the Happy die cut with a Basic Black Stampin’ Write marker. That would have finished it perfectly. But I was racing against the clock, wanting to finish that element before my husband got home. I ended up getting upstairs and starting dinner about 2 minutes before he walked in the door. Cutting it close! 🙂

You can see how that would have helped in the image below…

20160616_202629

I am not concerned with it now though. A) It was already totally adhered down and I didn’t have the time to start over. B) You can’t tell at all unless you are looking at it up close and at an angle like this. Since I didn’t expect my son (or anyone really) to do that, I left it. Sometimes you need to be like Elsa and “Let It Go!”.

I will be back Wednesday, and will share the Father’s Day cards I made for the men in my life. Sorry I didn’t share them before, but I didn’t want to spoil them for those that got them!

Hope you all have a wonderful day!

Product List

Black Stampin' Emboss Powder

Black Stampin’ Emboss Powder
[109133]
$5.00
Big Shot

$110.00

Leave a comment