One card- Two ways!

Good morning!

Hope everyone is having a great week and has fantastic plans for the weekend!

Recently I was checking out another bloggers website- Jennifer McGuire. Anyone know her? She does amazing things!!!! I always find inspiration from her.

Well, she posted a great card with a fun fold that I hadn’t tried before, so I decided to give it a go.

20170223_201849

It doesn’t look like much (especially on the white background. Oops! Sorry about that!!). But trust me, it is interesting!

20170223_201828

How fun!

It is really easy to do as well 🙂

  • Trim 1 piece of cardstock to 4.25″ x 11″, scoring at 5.5″ to make a top folding card.
  • Trim another piece of cardstock to 4.25″ x 7.5″, scoring at 2″.
  • Choose your stamps, I used the Special Reason set.
  • Stamp your first image about an inch up from the bottom of your 4.25″ x 5.5″ card.
  • Create a mask for the image (easy way to do this is by stamping the image onto a Post-It or a piece of Post-It tape, then trimming out).
  • Apply the mask you just created over your image on your card front.
  • Choose your next stamp and stamp right over the mask, again leaving about an inch blank at the base of the card.
  • Keep adding masks to your image, and layering your stamped images.
  • (In my example, I first stamped the large flower, masked it, then stamped the smaller flowers. I kept the mask on the large flower & created 2 more masks of the smaller flowers and put them on the card front, then I stamped the leaves.)
  • After I peeled off the masks, I was left with a pretty little flower grouping!
  • Using my paper snips, I fussy cut along the bottom border, removing that inch that I mentioned leaving blank.
  • Set the card front aside and pick up your other piece that is trimmed to 4.25″ x 7.5″.
  • Choose a sentiment stamp, and stamp it at the top of the 2 inch fold, as show in the photo above.
  • Apply adhesive to the back of the card that has the flowers stamped on it, and carefully adhere it to the *inside* of the piece that has the sentiment in it. They should line up easily.
  • *TIP! Use liquid glue here, you are able to slide the card around a bit to make sure that your placement is perfect before it adheres. I know some don’t like liquid glue because it can leave “lines” that are visible through your card. You can avoid this by using only a small amount of adhesive. You don’t need much at all. If you use a Tape Runner, Fast Fuze, etc, and you put the card down incorrectly, you will need to peel up the card, possibly causing creasing/damage to your card.
  • Your card is done! Easy right??

Now, after I put this card together, I used the Fine Tip Glue Pen to put down random dots of adhesive, here and there around the flowers. I tried, but you can’t really see them in the images above. But this adhesive is a perfect little accent. It is easily buildable & dries crystal clear.

The next day I was looking at the card again. While I liked it, I wanted to do something more with it.

So I came up with this!

20170223_201741

20170223_201803

The card base was done the exact same way as the one above. Except this time I didn’t do any stamping or masking!

I die cut the outline of the flowers using Gold Foil cardstock, then die cut the solid flowers using coordinating colors (Melon Mambo, Daffodil Delight, and Garden Green). I then adhered the gold outlines to the solid images. Now, while the leaves have the outline dies, they don’t have the solid coordinating images. So I just adhered the outlines to a piece of Garden Green cardstock, then fussy cut around the outline. Easy!

I adhered the flowers and leaves down, then as I did above, I fussy cut along the edges of the flowers.

I also added a few drops of adhesive from the Fine Tip Glue pen on this one. If you look at the first picture, you might see a few shadowy circles. Those are the drops of adhesive 😉

At the last minute, I added a sweet little bow to the card. I love the way that it finished it off. Added bonus is that the bow helps to hold the card closed!

This is such a fun style of card, unexpected and interesting 🙂

What do you think? If you have any questions, please let me know!

Have a great day!

One thought on “One card- Two ways!

  1. Connie February 24, 2017 / 6:52 pm

    Thankyou for sharing I love the new card style, I needed something new Thankyou …

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment